I’m finally done with the work nightmare of the last few months and fully ready for some more travel. Tomorrow morning, we head off to Heathrow for the start of a hectic not-quite-three-weeks in Southeast Asia. We’re taking in Bangkok, Chiang Mai and some other bits of northern Thailand, followed by a quick flight to Vietnam to see Ho Chi Minh City and the Mekong Delta. Of course, food is going to play a pretty big role in this trip. I’m looking forward to intensely meaty laab, novel types of somtam, morning market noodles and more, not to mention the culinary wonders I am expecting in Vietnam. I’m sure we’re going to fit in some actual touristing too – there are temples to visit, elephants to ride, landscapes to look at and hike through – but you know how excited I am for my first taste of Asian food in Asia!

I’m hoping to blog a bunch along the way, but I have no idea really what web access is going to be like. I’m sure I can find some internet cafes in the cities at least. Apparently the Vietnamese government is no fan of social media, so those of you who usually follow me on Twitter or Facebook will just have to check in on the blog. Wish me luck, and I’ll see you all on the flip side…

